Benton Franklin Health District


1. Understanding the Inspection Report Form

At each food establishment, inspectors watch food handling practices, take food temperatures, discuss food safety with operators, verify sources of food, inspect refrigerators, equipment and storage areas, and check water temperatures and equipment.

If violations of the food regulations are noted during the inspection, the violation is written on the inspection form and the person in charge is reminded of the correct procedure immediately.  High-risk violations are fixed immediately. 

Establishments are generally inspected one to four times per year, depending on the complexity of the menu, the amount of food prepared, the population served, and the inspection history.

2. Purpose of Inspection

Food establishments are inspected for a variety of reasons: 

Routine inspections are regular, unannounced inspections of the food operation.  Generally, two routine inspections per year are required by law.


Follow-up inspections are re-inspections of red items that were not in compliance at the time of the routine inspection.


Complaint and Illness Investigations are item-specific inspections based on a complaint received from the public or a potential foodborne illness.


Pre-Opening Inspections are conducted to check newly constructed food establishments for proper facility and equipment requirements before food is allowed into the establishment.

Only Routine and Follow-Up inspections are available online.  Complaint, HACCP, Temporary Food Establishment, Illness Investigation, and Pre-Opening inspections are not available for review online.


3. Risk Category 

Benton-Franklin Health District inspects based on risk.  Higher risk establishments may be inspected four or more times per year.  Risk factors include menu, methods of meal preparation, number of meals served, the population served, and past history of critical violations.


4. Total Points 

There are 418 possible points on the inspection report form. The lower the score, the fewer food safety violations noted at the time of the inspection. A perfect score is zero.


5. CDI box

CDI means “Corrected During Inspection.”  All red items are corrected immediately, when possible.


6. PTS box

Each violation has a point (PTS) value based on its likelihood of causing foodborne illness. Most Red High Risk Factors receive more points than Blue Low Risk Factors.


7. Red High Risk Factors

Red High Risk Factors are critical food handling practices that, when not done properly, are most likely to lead to foodborne illnesses. Most Red High Risk Factor violations found during inspections must be corrected immediately. Follow-up inspections may be conducted to make sure the items remain in compliance. Inability to correct critical violations may result in temporary closure of an establishment.


8. Blue Low Risk Factors

Blue Low Risk Factors are issues that are not direct causes of foodborne illness.  Although they are often the most visible part of the establishment (such as dirty floors), the likelihood of foodborne illness associated with Blue Low Risk Factors is very low. If left uncorrected however, they may lead to Red High Risk Factors.  Blue Low Risk Factor violations found during inspections are to be corrected within a prescribed time frame. 



9. PIC Signature

The person in charge (PIC) is the person that is responsible for food safety operations at the establishment at the time of the inspection.  Once the inspection is completed, the PIC is asked to sign for the receipt of the inspection report.


10. Follow-up box

Follow-up inspections may be conducted to make sure the items remain in compliance.